Phi Theta Kappa

Phi Theta Kappa is an honor society founded in 1918 that strives to recognize the academic achievements of students at community colleges. Members of the honor society are able to grow in scholarship, leadership, fellowship, and service.

Introduction to Phi Theta Kappa

Beta Nu Lambda Chapter

There are over 1,000 chapters of Phi Theta Kappa worldwide, and Beta Nu Lambda is the name of Eastern’s Chapter.  Each spring, new members participate in an induction ceremony to honor their achievements.  Beta Nu Lambda Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa has completed many service projects, traveled to several conferences, and participated in honors projects throughout the Chapter’s history.


Membership eligibility is based on completion of a minimum of 12 semester hours and a student’s cumulative GPA; therefore, membership is a special honor afforded to a small group of outstanding students. Courses that do not apply towards an associate degree are not considered in the cumulative GPA.  Candidates must have met the requirements to qualify to take college-level Math and English. Eligible students will receive a letter inviting them to join Beta Nu Lambda.

2022 PTK Officers

President – Joselyn Raines
Vice President – Brittany Goldizen
Secretary – Position Open
Historian – Position Open

2021 PTK Officers

President — Shayla Hartman
Vice President — Krista Thorn
Secretary — Ashley Riggleman
Historian — Marissa Simmons


Anthony Prato

Phi Theta Kappa Advisor


Phone: 304-434-8000 extension *