Eastern West Virginia Community & Technical College Honors Students and Holds Commencement

For many families in West Virginia, the celebration on Mother’s Day weekend was doubled. Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College announced its honor students and held its tenth commencement, graduating 77 students on Saturday, May 11.

Eastern’s tenth commencement began with an invocation provided by student Samantha Scamehorn and the National Anthem sung by Jill Landis, director of Eastern’s Nursing Program. Dr. Chuck Terrell, Eastern WV president, welcomed graduates and their families to the ceremony. He noted, “Each of you have crossed an important finish line, but this is only one of many races in your life.”

The college honored Monica Wilson and Elwood Williams with awards at the event. Wilson received the Harold K. Michael Founders Day award for distinguished service to the college, and Williams received the Active Partner in Educational Excellence award. Then Eastern student Delbert Paul Pennington spoke, reflecting on his time as a student and thanking the faculty for their investment.

Dr. Terrell introduced the keynote speaker Linda Losey, co-founder and COO of Bloomery Distillery. Losey is also a best-selling author, award-winning artist, a dynamic and professional speaker, and now entrepreneur and owner of the #1 Distillery in the US, per Yelp and Travel & Leisure Magazine.

“These students have worked so hard to get to this point, and I am so proud of all their effort,” said Terrell. “This is both an honor for them and for their families who supported them in this journey!”

The President’s List for Spring 2019 consists of students who earned a grade point average (GPA) of 4.0 or higher and twelve or more credit hours. The list is as follows: Maegan Curran, Saprina Gerard, Casey Goldizen, Katarina Harrison, Tina Judy, Ashleigh Kimble, Brandi McClure, Lindsay Miller, Paul Ours, Myriah Runion, Rachel Runions, Rachel Shaffer, Faith Solecki, Kaylee VanDevander, Melissa Walker, Joshua Witt, Denise Whitacre and Elizabeth Woodson.

The Dean’s List consists of students who earned a GPA 3.5 or higher and nine or more credit hours. This list is as follows: Alexis Adkins, Darice Alt, Kelsey Alt, Amy Auville, Megan Benner, Rebecca Bennett, Ethan Brake, Ryan Brill, Hanna Carlson, Mikayla Costanzo-Watson, Glenna Cullers, Brandee Dean, Keith Evans, Brittani Fertig, Paula Gray, Shayla Hartman, Dorman Helmick, Kennedie Hinger, John Hott, Cing Huai, Adonica Keplinger, Jessica Kline, Leah Loudermilk, Alisha Lowery, Madison McGregor, Emilee Miller, Tyler Mitchell, Tiffany Mongold, Ellen Nickelson, Tayla Ours, Jennifer Parks, Victoria Pratt, Gwendolyn Reese, Courtney Rexrode, Joseph Reyes, Christina Runions, Samantha Scamehorn, Tiffany Sentman, Casey Simmons, Kathy Simpson, Shay Stump, Makayla Sullivan, Kayla VanMeter and Chase Vance.

The Merit List consists of students who earned a GPA of 3.25 or higher and 6 or more credit hours. The list is as follows: Haley Armentrout, Morgin Bennett, Priscilla Bennett, Julie Bowen, Mark Bowen, Seth Brittingham, Melanie Callaway, Paxton Coby, Kiersten Coleman, Wendy Combs, Patrick Epperly, Grant Evick, Abigail Eye, Jodi Fertig, Maiah Hartman, Claire Heavner, Kathie Heavner, Wendy Keener, Cali Kessel, Stori Ketterman, Madison Lewis, Gina Livengood, Heather Mallow, Rebekah Markwood, Ashley Marple, Autumn Mathias, Harry McClure, Brianna McDonald, Kendra McIntyre, Samantha Mick, Crystal Miller, Chanda Minnick, Lane Ours, Tiffany Perry, Kristy Rexrode, Anna Riggleman, Riley Rodgers, Aprilyn Rollins, Jessica Ruddle, Victoria Sa, Stuart Sherman, Barbara Shrader, Holly Simmons, Marissa Simmons, Marcus Sites, Ciara Smith, Isaiah Smith, Jonathan Smith, Jessica Stevens, Braelyn Tharp, Keaton Tharp, Ida Thompson, Ashely Tilly, Diana M. Tyree, Kathryn VanWay, Amber Vaughn, Alyssa Vetter, Madison Wagner, Joshua Wagoner, Adrianna Waldron, Sarah Walters, Haley White, Kalee Woodward, Mark Wratchford, Meghan Wright and Macie Zirk. 

Congratulations to all 2019 graduates and honor students of Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College!

Click here to view the 2019 Commencement Program